*** Summer reading programs begin June 24th ***

Resources

Databases

Academic OneFile1

Periodicals covering a broad range of material: arts, business, education, general reference, health, law, literature, medicine, sciences, social sciences, technology, and other subjects.

Ancestry Library Edition  [On-Site Access Only]

Genealogical resource that you can search census, vital, church, court, and immigration records as well as images. Collections include the U.S., Canada, U.K., and other international collections including German, Chinese, Eastern Europe, Russia, and more. A great complement to HeritageQuest.  *Access is only available from the library’s public computers or from your own device via the library’s Wi-Fi.*

AtoZdatabases3

This premier reference and marketing database includes 7 million job listings, 30 million business and executive profiles, 12 million healthcare professionals and more. Ideal for sales leads, mailing lists, market research, employment opportunities, finding friends and relatives, and much more.

Britannica Academic1

An accurate, current, and comprehensive resource for college-level learners, researchers, and faculty. Discover encyclopedia articles, full-text journal and magazine articles, primary sources, multimedia, and other unique resources and tools that make research easier and more productive. Includes Encyclopedia Britannica plus Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary, magazines and periodicals, and many other research tools.

Britannica Escolar1

Encyclopedia that is universally trusted for accurate and age-appropriate content in Spanish. Two levels, Primaria for elementary and Secundaria for middle school, offer unique content that is of interest to every student. Search easily across levels by topic or subject area.

Britannica School1

The most comprehensive, up-to-date digital informational text for K-12 students. There are thousands of curated and curriculum-relevant articles, images, videos, audio clips, primary sources, maps, research tools, recommended websites, and three—elementary, middle, high—unique, but connected databases to meet every reading level.

Business Insights: Essentials1

Includes company profiles, industry and financial reports, as well as business magazines and newspapers.

ChiltonLibrary.com

ChiltonLibrary provides quick online access to repair, maintenance and service information on seven decades of the broadest range of vehicles available, including cars, trucks, vans and SUVs. Repair, maintenance and specification tables provide critical data on thousands of domestic and imported models from 1940 onward. No other source contains more years, makes and models. ChiltonLibrary.com is updated monthly.  *This resource is also available remotely for Fairport residents only. Please fill out this form for login information.*

Consumer Reports3

Get unbiased ratings and reviews for 9000+ products and services from Consumer Reports, plus trusted advice and in-depth reporting on what matters most.

Driving-Tests.org

This resource contains NYS Specific information for 3 Driver’s Tests. You will find 11 car practice tests, 9 motorcycle practice tests, and 10 CDL (Commercial Driver’s License) tests.  Also available to view online or download are the NYS Driver’s Manuals for cars, motorcyles and the CDL. Driving-Tests.org also has a FAQ section with detailed answers to DMV-related questions.

Gale OneFile: News1

Access full-text newspapers for New York State as well as major U.S. and international newspapers and search articles instantly by title, headline, date, or other fields.

Gale Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online3

Provides more than 16,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world’s most influential literary figures from all eras and genres. Comprised of the award-winning Dictionary of Literary Biography series, which over its 30-year history has been dedicated to making literature and its creators better understood and more accessible to students and interested readers, DLB Complete Online includes the DLB main series, the DLB Documentary Series, and the DLB Yearbook Series – all delivered in an easy-to-use 24/7 online format that matches the exact look and feel of the print originals.

Gale In Context: Elementary1

Gale In Context: Elementary, formerly Kids InfoBits, gives K-5 students a safe place to find answers to their questions, practice research skills, and explore interests inside and outside the classroom. The modern design and simple navigation make it easy for users to explore content and gain comfort with database searching.

Gale Literature Criticism Online3

Gale takes literature, history and culture to the next level with the largest, most extensive compilation of literary commentary available: Literature Criticism Online. Imagine centuries of analysis – the scholarly and popular commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals – delivered in an easy-to-use 24/7 online format that matches the exact look and feel of the print originals. The net result is tens of thousands of hard-to-find essays at your fingertips. It’s all designed to raise the level of research while providing the around-the-clock remote access that today’s researchers demand.

Gale Something About the Author Online3

Provides first-time comprehensive online access to all volumes ever printed in Gale’s acclaimed and long-standing Something About the Author series, which examines the lives and works of authors and illustrators for children and young adults and is the preeminent source on authors and literature for young people. Something About the Author Online includes both the main series and Something About the Author Autobiography Series, totaling more than 217 volumes, 12,000 entries, and nearly 17,000 images – all delivered in an easy-to-use 24/7 online format that matches the exact look and feel of the print originals.

Gale Virtual Reference Library3

Trusted and authoritative digital reference books covering everything from biography, business, environment, history, literature, medicine, multicultural studies, our nation and the world, religion, science and social issues. All sources are full-text, available 24/7, translatable into 11 languages, offer text-to-speech capability and options to print, email and download articles.

General OneFile1

Contains news and periodical articles on many topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many more.

GreenFILE

GreenFILE by EBSCO is a research database covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.

Health Reference Center Academic1

Contains the full-text of medical, nursing and allied health journals, plus a wide variety of consumer health sources.

HeritageQuest Online3

A powerful and popular genealogical resource that includes the Federal Censuses, over 25,000 family and local histories, bank and military records, and genealogical and local history sources.

LawHelpNY provides access to high-quality online information about free legal services throughout New York. Information and resources on legal problems including housing, public benefits, family law, and more are provided here.

Morningstar

Find comprehensive financial information on stocks as well as thousands of Mutual Funds. Get information on various investment indexes and also utilize portfolio tools.  *This resource is available for Fairport residents only. Please fill out this form for login information.*

NoveList Plus

A premier readers’ advisory database that helps readers find fiction and nonfiction books that are right for them! Popular features include reading lists, read-alikes, professional book reviews, book discussion guides, curriculum guides, and other book-related articles. Also access information on audiobooks, such as audiobook recommendations and audio samples.  *This resource is available for Fairport residents only. When prompted for “Patron ID” enter your library card number.*

NoveList K-8 Plus

A readers’ advisory tool that helps readers in grades K-8 find the right fiction and nonfiction books based on their age and interests! Access reading lists, read-alikes, professional book reviews, and full series information from an easy-to-use interface. Limit searches by grade level, reading level (Accelerated Reader and Lexile), genre, topic or unit of study, number of pages, and more.  *This resource is available for Fairport residents only. When prompted for “Patron ID” enter your library card number.*

Opposing Viewpoints1

Contains a range of perspecitves on many important issues, with over 13,000 pro/con viewpoints. Includes a variety of resource types: reference, news, primary sources, multimedia and more.

 

ProQuest: Black Freedom Struggle

Developed with input from Black historians and advisors, this curated selection of more than 2,000 primary sources is designed for teaching and learning about the struggles and triumphs of Black Americans.

Research in Context1

Created specifically for middle-schoolers, Research in Context combines the best of Gale’s reference content with age-appropriate videos, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and much more. Students will find outstanding support to complete assignments in core subjects including literature, science, social studies, and history.

Rochester History3

Rochester History is a scholarly journal that provides informative and entertaining articles about the history and culture of Rochester, Monroe County, and the Genesee Valley. It is published biannually (spring and fall) by the Central Library of Rochester and Monroe County. The Rochester History Index is arranged by subject and includes all issues up to 2009.

Rochester Images Digital Collection3

Contains over 22,000 historical and contemporary images from Rochester and Monroe County.

System for Award Management (SAM.gov)

Database of all Federal programs available to State and local governments.

OCLC (Online Computer Library Center) is an online catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide. Funding for WorldCat is provided by the Rochester Regional Library Council through a grant from the New York State Education Department.

Access provided to all New York State residents by NOVELny. For alternate access, go to https://novelnewyork.org/index.php
2 Access provided by Rochester Regional Library Council
Access provided by Monroe County Library System

Access provided to all New York State residents by NOVELny. For alternate access, go to https://novelnewyork.org/index.php
2 Access provided by Rochester Regional Library Council
Access provided by Monroe County Library System

Search

Select “CatalogPlus” to search our library catalog. Or select “Website” to search for specific content on our website.

Quick Links